Nanna Koerstz Madsen won the 2017 event, earning a promotion to the LPGA tour.

Brook-Lea Country Club, along with the LPGA’s Symetra Tour and Upstate Golf Charities, Inc. are proud to bring you the Danielle Downey Classic. The 2017 event was held again on this classic Donald Ross layout from July 17-23.

The tournament is named after Danielle Downey, Rochester’s most accomplished female golfer. Downey learned the game as a junior golfer at Brook-Lea Country Club, making this event special to everyone involved. During her career she won three consecutive New York State Women’s Amateur titles. She also starred on the NCAA Div. I Auburn women’s golf team, where she earned All-American honors in 2000, 2002, and 2003.

Following her amateur career, Downey pursued a career on the pro tour circuits, working her way up from the developmental Futures Tour to fully exempt status on the LPGA Tour. After a hand injury ended her professional playing career, she returned to Brook-Lea Country club to host an annual junior clinic with several other LPGA golfers. At the time of her passing, she was once again at Auburn, working for the school coordinating both the men’s and women’s golf programs.

downeyclassicAnnie Park took home the inaugural Danielle Downey Classic title. Park, just 20 at the time of her victory, was competing in just her fourth event as a professional. The 72 hole event is unusual on the Symetra Tour, and Park’s hard fought victory required a delicate up and down on the 18th to hold off challenger, and LPGA veteran, Vicky Hurst. Park would go on to be named the Symetra Tour’s rookie of the year. The field also featured 17-year-old Canadian Brooke Henderson who finished 5th in the US Open, and the LPGA Championship, and won on the LPGA Tour by an astonishing 8 shots three weeks after our event.

Purchase Tickets

Weekly and daily tickets can be purchased online at

Order Online

Event Information

Looking for information on the 2016 Danielle Downey Classic? You can find tickets, parking, volunteer, and pro-am information on the dedicated tournament website at